How to Un-Send an Email

unsend copy

How to Un-Send an Email

October 28, 2015

Emails are always coming and going in our lives. Every now and then we send emails but forget to add something or review what we sent. Then a sudden fear comes out of the realization that there’s no way of stopping that email! Luckily, Google has a that allows anyone with a gmail account to un-send an email. This can save you time and embarrassment! 

Two of the best things about this is that 1) it only takes around a minute to enable this feature and 2) its completely FREE! Now any time that you send an email you will see a message at the top of the screen that asks if you want to “undo”. This message will remain for around 5-20 seconds depending on your settings, after which you will not be able to un-send your email. 

1. Click on the gear on the top right corner and then click on settings

Screen Shot 2015-10-29 at 12.36.41 PM

2. Click on the “enable undo send” button

Screen Shot 2015-10-29 at 12.39.00 PM

3. Then save the changes

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 10.12.50 AM

This should save you time and resources and hopefully will make your life easier.

Once you sent your email you. You will have a text box appear allowing you to “undo” your email and this allows you to edit any mistakes that you might of made

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 11.31.15 AM

Note: You will no longer have the option to un-send the email if you:

  • leave that webpage

  • click the view message button

  • wait until the undo period has ended (usually 10 seconds) 

One last thing: you may notice that your emails take about a minute longer to arrive in your recipients email box. Still worth it? We think so!

About the Author:
Cristian Guillen is a first year student pursuing computer science at the University of Michigan.